ACS Digital Disruptors Awards 2015

The ACS is passionate about the ICT profession being recognised as a driver of productivity, innovation and business – able to deliver real, tangible outcomes. To honour the efforts of Australia’s ICT professionals, the ACS has introduced these national awards for the teams and individuals at the forefront of digital disruption.

Around 50 finalists from a total of 13 categories were selected for the national awards across industry, government and education to recognise them as digital disruptors. Each winner was selected from a wide range of entries by an independent judging panel comprising industry experts in technology, innovation, science, academia and business.

The winners were announced at the inaugural ACS Digital Disruptors Awards dinner celebration held at The Star in Sydney on 17 November 2015 as part of the REIMAGINATION: Thought Leadership Summit.

Visit Information Age magazine for a photo gallery of the event.

Learn more about the nominees and winners by visiting these YouTube channels:

  • Team awards: Service Transformation for the Digital Consumer and Skills Transformation of Work Teams
  • Individual awards: All other categories

Team Awards (6)        

Skills Transformation of Work Teams 

  • Small Team – Under 20
    Category Winner: Australian Taxation Office
    Gold Award Winner: QLD Department of Housing and Public Works
  • Medium Team – Under 200
    Category Winner: Woolworths
    Gold Award Winner: AGL
    Gold Award Winner:
  • Large Team – Over 200
    Category Winner: Serco
    Gold Award Winner: ME Bank
    Gold Award Winner: Qantas

Service Transformation for the Digital Consumer

  • Government
    Category Winner: Australian Crime Commission
    Gold Award Winner: Australian Taxation Office
    Gold Award Winner: Department of Human Services
    Gold Award Winner: OneGov NSW FSI
  • Corporate
    Category Winner: Blamey Saunders Hears
    Gold Award Winner: ME Bank
    Gold Award Winner: Serco
    Gold Award Winner: Woodside Energy
  • NGO/Not For Profit
    Category Winner: CSIRO
    Gold Award Winner: Good Return

Individual Awards

ICT Higher Education Student of the Year
Category Winner: Jacob Wilson
Gold Award Winner: Matt Adcock
Gold Award Winner: Cornelius Do
Gold Award Winner: Matthew Rossi

ICT Higher Education Educator of the Year
Category Winner: Dr Anton Bogdanovych, Western Sydney University
Gold Award Winner: A/Prof Katrina Falkner, The University of Adelaide
Gold Award Winner: Dr Tomas Trescak, Western Sydney University
Gold Award Winner: Tom Worthington FACS CP, Australian National University

ICT Consultant of the Year
Category Winner: Clinton House
Gold Award Winner: Jordan Nguyen
Gold Award Winner: Yohan De Silva

ICT Researcher of the Year
Category Winner: Gernot Heiser, UNSW
Gold Award Winner: Guido Governatori, NICTA
Gold Award Winner: Prof Dacheng Tao, UTS

Young ICT Professional of the Year

  • Female under age 30
    Category Winner: Emily Rich
    Gold Award Winner: Yanan Liu
    Gold Award Winner: Bronwyn Mercer
    Gold Award Winner: Remya Ramesh
  • Male under age 30 
    Category Winner: Yohan De Silva 
    Gold Award Winner: John Magganas
    Gold Award Winner: Mathew Mirabito
    Gold Award Winner: Bingxuan Xie

ICT Professional of the Year

  • Category Winner: Simon Chan, Chief Engineer, Radlink Communications
    Gold Award Winner: Elizabeth Harper, CIO, GHD Pty Ltd
    Gold Award Winner: David Roffe, CIO, St. Vincent’s Health Australia
    Gold Award Winner: Jodie Rugless, Manager Information Services, City of Charles Sturt